Can't manage any calm at night

Hello, I’ve had muse(previous generation) for a few days. During the morning and day I’ve started to make some progress, but at night before bed I just did a 25 min session and only managed 5 percent calm vs this morning I got a 65 percent calm. Had same experience yesterday. Very frustrating. Any tips? I’m totally new to mediation.

Try not to get to frustrated. I’ve had similar issues - I can still get useful sessions out, but do find it hard to get sessions feeling consistent in their feedback.

In my experience, the calibration can have a massive effect on the usefulness of the feedback sounds in the Muse app.

If you’re already relaxed, or start meditating during calibration, it can be a more difficult session to get a guage on what the feedback is describing.

I’ve had:

• entire sessions where the feedback didn’t seem to respond to my (perceived) inner state,
  • sessions where there’s heavy feedback, but I feel I have some control and can get to short periods of birdsong (those I actually find useful since they help tune you towards deeper calm, even if the stats at three end tell you you weren’t very calm
  • sessions where I can’t really get a sense of what the feedback is responding to - long sections of calm feedback with sudden upsurges in noise, then don’t back to silence without me perceiving much difference in internal state.

I’m assuming most of these oddities are down to calibration and not faults, or my brain doing weird things - without knowing the raw values and baseline level for a session, it’s hard to know what the issue is.

I have found “desensitising” the feedback by deliberately thinking, or “looking at the back of my eyelids” during calibration gets a more relateable kind of feedback, but it can be a bit"numb" if you go overboard.