Converting OSC messages to protocol buffer objects (or similar)

Hi there -

(Forgive me, I’m still new to OSC messages & protocol buffers.)

I’m trying to build a simple C++ application that

1. connects to the live OSC event stream broadcast by muse-io and
  2. plots the eeg or accelerometer data received (or otherwise “consumes” said data in an interesting, but simple way)

Nothing crazy - it’s just means of getting familiar with the SDK and getting the data flowing.

So far, I’ve got an application that uses liblo to connect to the OSC stream.

int main ()
{
  /** create an OSC server & listen on a port */
  lo_server_thread st = lo_server_thread_new ("5000", error);

/** add handlers for OSC paths we're interested in */
  lo_server_thread_add_method (st, "/muse/eeg", NULL, handle_eeg_msg, NULL);
  lo_server_thread_add_method (st, "/muse/acc", NULL, handle_acc_msg, NULL);

/** start the thread running, sleep in a loop, yadda yadda yadda */
  return 0;
}

/** simple handler for EEG messages */
int handle_eeg (const char *path, const char *types, lo_arg **argv,
                 int argc, void *data, void *user_data)
{ printf ("hey, look! an EEG datum!
");
 return 0;
}

The OSC message handlers are working fine, but it feels awkward to work with the OSC data structures.

/** simple handler for EEG messages */
int handle_eeg_msg (const char *path, const char *types, lo_arg **argv,
                     int argc, void *data, void *user_data)
{ printf ("hey, look! an EEG datum!
");

/** parse the data out of argv and do something with it... **/
  if (argc == 4) // four channels
    { float pts[4];
      for (int i = 0; i < argc; i++)
        pts[i] = argv[i]->f;
      plot_new_eeg_point (pts);
      return 0;
    }
  else if (argc == 6) // six channels
    {
      // something similar...
    }
  else
    { printf ("malformed eeg message
");
      return 1;
    }

return 0;
}