File sizes, Memory leaks, and streamlining program start up

Hi everyone!

I’m a PhD student working on a collaborative art and science installation. We’re planning on presenting the MUSE headsets at the exhibit, where visitors at an art museum will be able to use the headsets to record and see their own brain waves. The idea is that each visitor will be able to borrow a tablet and a headset which are paired and they’ll walk about the museum and observe exhibits while their EEG is recorded. Due to this environment, we would like to make the process of starting and displaying recordings as seamless as possible. I’ve ran into a few snags with the development software and I was wondering if anyone could offer solutions / suggestions.

I’m currently using a 64-bit Windows 7 OS.

Thanks!

1. It seems that I cannot convert a Muse file that is longer than 32 minutes into the MATLAB format with MusePlayer. I also cannot use Muse-player to directly save into MATLAB format for longer than 32 minutes. Is there a way I can resolve this so I can use longer recordings? I would imagine there is a likelihood of one subject using the headset continuously for more than 30 minutes.

2. Muselab appears to use up more RAM the longer I keep the software running. Is there a way to prevent this? I noticed that in our tablets, which have 1GB by RAM, the software slows down immensely after 2 hours. I also noticed in the task manager that the RAM allocated to the Muselab software doubled. It seems there’s a kind of a memory leak. While this is compensated for easily by restarting the software, I was wondering if there was a way to resolve this.