Intentionally disrupting my thoughts and still getting birds

I thought something was kind of off with how I was getting birds at moments when I would notice my mind WAS wandering… So, I tried to intentionally test it. I started running through song lyrics, summoning up images - anything BUT focusing on my breath… and Muse still says I’m doing great, gives me non-stop birds and tells me I was calm for 8 minutes out of a 10 minute session. I’m not sure how I should interpret this as anything other than the product not working at all. If there is not some trick to make it actually work, I’m just going to return it. This is very disappointing for such an expensive device.

I have 15 years of experience in Buddhist meditation and last year I bought and used Muse. I feel that it is convenient for checking the state of “relaxing type meditation for beginners” which is simply closing your eyes and increasing alpha waves by relaxing.

I wanted to help you by reading your post and I did a simple experiment.
There are three prerequisites.
(1) Your Muse is not broken
(2) Your Muse electrode is detecting your brain waves correctly
(3) You have properly calibrated before meditation

If you try following experiment and don’t get the following results, then probably one of the three conditions above is not met.

Fig. 1 shows I sitting in a dark room in a comfortable position (in Zen meditation), closing my eyes, and doing “relaxing meditation for beginners”. I did it for 30 minutes. The birds kept whispering and the calm rate was 99%. The data shows only for the first 5 minutes.

In Fig2, in a bright room, with a tense posture (I sat on an office chair), closed my eyes, and tried “relaxing meditation for beginners” for 5 minutes. The mind moved around, but birds sometimes whispered, and the calm rate was 33%. The data shows all for 5 minutes.