Marking eeg signal

Hello everyone,

I’m an experimental psychologist using Muse and its SDK to examine correlations between specific subjective meditative states with eeg data. To conduct that kind of research I need to find a way to have my participants send a marker on the recording signal when these subjective experiences do occur. In order to do that I can not use the Markers function in the SDK. Rather I’d like to use a usb response box such as the one provided by Inquisit http://www.blackboxtoolkit.com. Does someone know if there is anyways to interface the SDK with such a device.
Thank you for your time and insight.

Stephane

Hi swith,

To record markers in the same file as Muse data you just need to send OSC messages representing those markers to the recording process. So to use an external button or similar device, you would need to write a simple program to turn the button press event into an OSC message, and then send that OSC message to either MuseLab or MusePlayer listening for incoming OSC messages on a particular port.

Hi Swith and Tom,

I would be also interested to use some markers while recording the signals.
Swith were you able to do it? Could anyone share a sample of the simple program to write in order to turn the button press event into an OSC message…?

Thank you in advance!