Muse + auxiliary electrode

Hi everyone,

I am very interested in neurofeedback and would like to get a system for private use soon. I studied psychology and neuroscience and therefore have some experience with EEG and BCI.

I am now looking for an easy to use EEG system that I can use at home without a lot of effort. I’ve read a couple of threads here, but I still haven’t found the ideal solution for me. I’d like to use it mainly for meditation, attention, but also ILF, and maybe other things in future.

At the moment my favorite would be a Muse with an auxiliary electrode (like Myndlift). Has anyone experience with the Myndlift system or is already using the Muse with an extra electrode?

Would this set-up be well-suited for my purpose (meditation, attention, ILF)?

Which software would you recommend? I would like to try different things and I am interested in analyzing the data. So I’m not really looking for black-box like applications.

Is it easily possible to add the extra electrode to the Muse? Or would it be the best solution to directly get a Myndlift system?

BTW: I am using a Mac, so this might possibly limit the software available.

In case you have any other recommendations I’d be happy, too.

Thanks a lot in advance!

no.

Sounds l like you need to go towards something more advanced, like Open BCI @ http://openbci.com/

Actually, yes you can.
To make your own single wire electrode use Pin 2 on the USB port for the 2016 Muse.
You will need to use shielded wire and ground the shielding it to the usb plug ground.

You can turn on the display/recording of the Aux_R sensor in Muse Monitor settings.

Thanks for the info.

Do you think this setup is suited for my purpose (training of meditation, attention, ILF)? And what software could you recommend as I am using a Mac / iPhone?

I have also looked into openBCI, but it seems a little bit cumbersome compared to the Muse.