Phonegap / Cordova Bluetooth library

Hi all,

I want to build an app connected to the Muse.
As i’m not familiar with native app development I want to build something using Cordova / Phonegap. I’ve seen posts before so I know there’s no plugin yet. As a start I’m trying various bluetooth plugins, till now i could not connect to the Muse successfully. I’ve tried https://github.com/randdusing/BluetoothLE and https://github.com/don/BluetoothSerial.
Is there anyone that knows a good bluetooth plugin?
And, does the Muse work with Bluetooth or Bluetooth LE?

Thanks,

Peter

I believe the Muse works with Bluetooth 2.0, but not with every bluetooth interface. But if the device is only a couple of years old this should not be a problem. A bigger problem is the protocol. The documentation says that iOS doesn’t support a high enough bitrate, which I find peculiar, but then again I am no iOs expert. So anyway, the samples are “compressed” using a couple of different variable bitlength encoding schemes.

I am trying to write a parser in Python, but so far my Parser is certainly doing something wrong, because it always has too many bits left over from a packet. But I imagine this protocol will be even more delightful to implement in javascript!

Hi - kinda late to this thread but I wondered if you had gotten further. I’ve gotten the Muse to connect via the BluetoothSerial package and can get the version and status information out of the headset. But now I’m on to reading data in Javascript. I’m still not positive that a Javascript application will be able to keep up but I wondered if you had methods for parsing the raw data. I’ve been using https://musesharp.codeplex.com/ as a coding basis but, while it is nicely object oriented, it doesn’t translate as well as into Javascript as I’d like. I’m mostly struggling with parsing compressed data.