Understanding Muse Capabilities

Hi,

Few months ago, my friends gave me for my birthday the Muse headband. Great gift! I used it to train my calmness.

Besides, I’m a visual artist and I got excited when I saw that Muse could send the data through OSC. I use Touch Designer (TD) and gives me an infinite variety of interactions. So I started to imagine the possibilities such as control the lightness, or the color of a scene depending on the mental mood.

I’ve also heard of other projects that use headbands to interact with the position of the objects.
So it made me think that I could read the Muse data to determine when my mind is trying to focus on “left” or “right”, for instance.

But when I get all the data into TD I only see hundreds of fluctuating bars.
More or less, I see the FFT as a 129 band audio visualizer, and I understand that each FFT group corresponds to each channel (left ear, left forehead…). Should I see any difference on how the bars fluctuate in each channel if I focus on “left” or “right”? Or is it when there are positive or negative emotions?

So far, the only real responses I see is when I blink, on the EEG data, and when I try to “compress” my head that the FFT bars approach to 0.
Are the experimental focus and mellow channels reliable? What’s the additional processing made to the waves?

For my understandings (I’m not a doctor) I see no significant differences on alpha, beta… data neither.
I thought that if I’d try to stress my mind, Gamma or Beta values would rise while Theta or Delta would tend to 0. And the opposite if I’d get calmed. But no, I see no difference…

As you can see, I’m a little lost here, so I’m looking for some guidance on how to understand the capabilities of the device.
In which points I’m right and in which I’m totally wrong?
Is it a matter of brain training?
Can it read the levels of midiclorians? :wink:

Thanks a lot for your time and a attention.

V.

Hi Cannavizion,